snail mail

My hiatus has ended.

In other words, I’ve internet connection back! In other news, I have received my very first “holiday” card from Manila. This is surreal.

7 months and it's Christmas.

My writing skills (or lack thereof) have been developed through letter writing- as in, writing personal letters to relatives I don’t personally know (but was obliged to write to as a child), I barely know (I was polite enough, and they were too, by replying), I know by name, I have seen once, and other relatives I have come to know through these letters. As I went into school, I have kept this habit of writing letters to people- I write personal letters (read: not just notes) even to seatmates I get to see every single schoolday. Because I was an entrepreneur at a very young age, I sold and traded stationery with fellow (young) businesswomen. There came a point where I started peeling out stamps from international letters because an older person told me that sophisticated people collected them. I wanted to be one. So every time I received a letter sent from far away, I would ask my mother to boil water and I would let the stamp absorb the water until I can peel it neatly off of paper to put on a photo album. Rethinking those times, I know I haven’t made much but I knew that I’ve fallen in love with letters. I have kept every single letter given to me since I was 2 years old. Okay. Since I can remember.

My very first Hallmark. It's almost 19 years old.

Now, my year-old niece has written rather very nicely into my first Christmas Hallmark from Manila. Time flies. And I’m bound to receive more. Snail mail, anyone? ♥

Happy holidays,

Ellissy xx

1 comment
  1. Aw, this was a really nice post. In idea I would like to put in writing like this additionally – taking time and actual effort to make a very good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and by no means seem to get something done.

Leave a Reply

