dreams and dogs

Last week (Monday or Tuesday, I forget these things) I woke up with a stiff neck (not that it’s related to my dream or to this story, but it starts with my dream so I figured it’s okay to start with this); I woke up after battling with dogs. Or after the idea of battling with dogs. I dreamt I was at war with human beings, and I could not recall why. I was running and running. And when at last I shifted to some sort of force that allowed me to climb a tree toward a roof, the humans became dogs, and for some reason (I like my ‘and’s after commas, you see) these dogs are able to freaking climb the roof where my feet were at, and I had some sort of light saber that was able to make the dogs disappear. Then it was 5:43am (exactly) and I thought was late for work.

     

I kept on telling my coworkers when one asked me what movie I watched and I completely claimed it was totally random until I remembered I was rereading The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon. I remember first reading this book in my senior year in college, when I was in the dorm…so bored, so bored.

Anyway, I’ll try blogging about books to bring my #52in52 project closer to actualization.

Ten years from now, I don’t think I’ll remember Wellington (the dog) instantly upon mentioning this book but I’ll remember that Christopher reminds us that:

1. Words are merely words. It reminds me a great deal about semantics. It reminds me a great deal about semiotics.

10271549_10202767903536120_8150463429571425299_n

 

“The word “metaphor” means carrying something from one place to another . . . and it is when you describe something by using a word for something that it isn’t. This means that the word “metaphor” is a metaphor.

I think it should be called a lie because a pig is not like a day and people do not have skeletons in their cupboards. And when I try and make a picture of the phrase in my head it just confuses me because imagining and apple in someone’s eye doesn’t have anything to do with liking someone a lot and it makes you forget what the person was talking about. ”

Or

“Siobhan says that if you raise one eyebrow it can mean lots of different things. It can mean ‘I want to do sex with you’ and it can also mean ‘I think what you just said was very stupid.”

It reminds our over-thinking selves to not over analyze things in the same way we’re reminded to just take things as they are. No what ifs, no hidden meanings.

2. Our sad stories should not consume us entirely. Otherwise the greatest love songs wouldn’t be such hits, if only applicable to one or two people.

“And when you look at the sky you know you are looking at stars which are hundreds and thousands of light-years away from you. And some of the stars don’t even exist anymore because their light has taken so long to get to us that they are already dead, or they have exploded and collapsed into red dwarfs. And that makes you seem very small, and if you have difficult things in you life it is nice to think that they are what is called negligible, which means they are so small you don’t have to take them into account when you are calculating something.”

And our sad stories should not be dwelled upon too long; we can’t always control things:

10156036_10202767986578196_4882198363931432807_n

***

My other favorite ideas besides parents’ unconditional love for their children are:

On Time and Space:

Because time is not like space. And when you put something down somewhere, like a protractor or a biscuit, you can have a map in your head to tell you where you have left it, but even if you don’t have a map it will still be there because a map is a representation of things that actually exist so you can find the protractor or the biscuit again. And a timetable is a map of time, except that if you don’t have a timetable time is not there like the landing and the garden and the route to school. Because time is only the relationship between the way different things change, like the earth going round the sun and atoms vibrating and clocks ticking and day and night and waking up and going to sleep.

On Choosing

“In life, you have to take lots of decisions and if you don’t take decisions you would never do anything because you would spend all your time choosing between things you could do.”

P.S. Also read about us knowing only a fraction of the universe at any given time on page 157🙂

Leave a Reply

